Oxeye Game Studio
Public Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index

some gfx from the last days
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index -> Whispers in Akarra
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
delaque



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 2


PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:38 am    Post subject: some gfx from the last days Reply with quote

greetings akarra enthusiasts!

from time to time i get requests for gfx that were drawn in the last days of akarra, and thus never used.
to make them accessable for all of you, fledge asked me to post them here.

you can dowload a tileset (don't ask me what's in it) and some sprites (i think palm trees and super-duper-3d-houses)

please don't ask me how those gfx can be integrated into the game or any other techinical questions, since i have no clue about those things! Cool

cu, del
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, I think we all owe a big thanks to Delaque and also to Kinten. (Kinten shared a different pile of spritesets that most of us have.)

Thanks!

Now, I am replying to this topic for other people to read and for Khaile to respond to. I'll try and be as informative as I can.

Here is a quote from the source code of the Area Editor that Khaile shared with me when I was asking how to add in spritesets.
Code:

const char* SPRITESET_FILES[NUM_SPRITESETS] =
   {
      "gfx/forest.ss2",
      "gfx/buildings.ss2",
      "gfx/darkwoods.ss2",
      "gfx/interior.ss2",
      "gfx/walls.ss2",
      "gfx/cityhope.ss2",
      "gfx/interior02.ss2",
      "gfx/wetcave.ss2",
      "gfx/sset1.ss2",
      "gfx/sset2.ss2",
      "gfx/sset3.ss2",
      "gfx/sset4.ss2",
      "gfx/sset5.ss2",
      "gfx/sset6.ss2",
      "gfx/sset7.ss2",
      "gfx/sset8.ss2",
      "gfx/sset9.ss2",
      "gfx/sset10.ss2",
      "gfx/sset11.ss2",
      "gfx/sset12.ss2",
      "gfx/sset13.ss2",
      "gfx/sset14.ss2",
      "gfx/sset15.ss2",
      "gfx/sset16.ss2",
      "gfx/sset17.ss2",
      "gfx/sset18.ss2",
      "gfx/sset19.ss2",
      "gfx/sset20.ss2"
   };
 


Try using some of those names and see if it helps.


I seriously doubt that is the source code of the Area Editor that was released to us. sset10 through sset20 do not work at all. This source code apparently enables us to add a total of 11 more spritesets than we actually can. Right now all we can add is nine new ones.

Most servers have added the following nine with what they can fit in out of the spriteset ressources, all duplicates aside:

-Faladan City 1
-Faladan City 2
-Faladan Docks
-Mineshaft, Windows, Light and Picture-frames
-Two-story house, three-attached-buildings, ruins
-Wooden Barricade
-Gate-Walls 02 (Almost Chinese-like Architecture)
-Original Forest* replaced by Woodlands in normal slot

(*The woodlands.ss2 was used to replace forest.ss2 and if any servers used the actual blocking of woodlands rather than the woodlands sprite with the forest's blocking, they did not bother keeping the original forest.ss2. However, some kept it so that if woodlands' original blocking was kept they could use the original forest in certain areas so taht those areas were not ruined due to wider blocking on trees or logs replacing planks. Some also preferred the original forest set's rocks to use in dungeons visually.)

So, depending on whether the server chose to keep the original forest.ss2 they have either one or two valid spriteset slots left to use.

And of course that leaves them with a choice between which one or two of the three spritesets from Delaque they will use. There is also rumours of a mountainous spriteset. If that exists, then what? One or two of the four can be used. And then what about the servers that added in foreign graphics from the famous Japanese pixel artists Blue and Mac, ripped them illegally from RPG Maker 2000 or from SNES Roms? They have even less free slots. Thus, I think we'd all benefit from Khaile actually opening up the remaining eleven spriteset slots like he said he did when he quoted that peice of code to me.

Is there a second version of the Area Editor somewhere that has these unlocked? Hopefully you'll share it with all of us without making us pay for it. Thanks for your time.
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote


Well, if we examine this picture and compare it to the jungle set you posted, it appears that this map was made out of two different sets, one containing even more jungle trees, stumps, flowers, etc.

And there is the rumour of the mountain set.

Umm... would you be able to share anything more such as the set used above?
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeb
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 797


PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh, maybe you should draw you own sets instead? Razz

I'll check why the area editor doesn't load all sets during the weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd also like to point out that the show progression point drop off option is still there in the menu yet the command doesn't seem to do anything.
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AquaritsBR



Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 259

Location: Bahia,Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i cant puit water with the animated things!!!!

maybe need the tilesets pass. Dunno, but i can save the animateds frames.
_________________
sorry my english!


Visite Akarrian Soul www.akarriansoul.kit.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had problems re-animating the water on those tiles even with Gorgorath's generous and useful help in the texture editor which I am completely unfamiliar from for the most part. I don't know if EX even re-animated their water successfully.
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AquaritsBR



Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 259

Location: Bahia,Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i got the solution.
Only need program the frames of the server and client tileset file.

Dont need rebuild the file used in area editor.
_________________
sorry my english!


Visite Akarrian Soul www.akarriansoul.kit.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
tbbw



Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 76

Location: next to my porn colection

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

umm guys.... if u feal like knowing what file names the diffrent sets use... learn to use an hex editor... all the const's are readable there. Rolling Eyes
search for i.e ss2 or something simular.

any probs pm me on irc.
( well if my nick says TbbW-Away then i'm not even there )
_________________
Emperium Xenos Project.
http://www.emperium.webhop.net/
The Pic Depo.
http://picdepo.us.to/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you saying that there are other filename paths it will read other than the originals and sset1-9?
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gorgorath



Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 128


PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh in the code it reads the sets like sset1-9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AquaritsBR



Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 259

Location: Bahia,Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey hey hey
can use more sets then listed in the area editor?
_________________
sorry my english!


Visite Akarrian Soul www.akarriansoul.kit.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He just answered that. It is impossible without source code modifications. According to Apocalyse, though I haven't heard this from Khaile himself, you can pay him for source code modifications to open up the other eleven spriteset slots. (10-20)
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AquaritsBR



Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 259

Location: Bahia,Brazil

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah ok
just that i thinked, i can use only the exist slots on the area editor
_________________
sorry my english!


Visite Akarrian Soul www.akarriansoul.kit.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Fledge



Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 148


PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just out of curiosity: Do you not have the jungle set that is mixed with the palm set or are you just avoiding giving out more than 9 new spritesets? Is that so that the spriteset list, which stops at sset9 rather than sset20, like you claimed, not get any complains about not enough slots? I honestly think that if you went over the limit you'd just have more people vouching to do what has already been done for source code amendments: buy a copy(or copies?) of the Strategist in exchange for source code amendments. If anything, wouldn't releasing the jungle sets be a way to get a few more sales?
_________________
If you turn a blind eye to any side of a discussion, if you disallow what may be and what actually is the truth, then you've no credibility whatsoever. You end it by saying "I don't want to talk about it." Classic regression.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index -> Whispers in Akarra All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group