Oxeye Game Studio
Public Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index

Hey, has anyone ran into this?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index -> Whispers in Akarra
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Soc Man



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:47 am    Post subject: Hey, has anyone ran into this? Reply with quote

Hi there I'm havein issues connecting to akarrain servers.

The error is "unknown connection error"

but its weird its like its not even attempting to connect. This error apears as soon as I attempt to connect on my account, anon acount or in attempt to make a new account. However if say the server was down in the past you would have to wait several seconds. This doesn't happen.

I can't connect to any akarra shard useing completely different game folders.

Deleteing, Reinstalling, Restarting and trying a different install location has done nothing.

I am very puzzled. Its like its useing a windows program or something in the registry is damaged or disabled. Any thoughts jeb ? We are puzzled over here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeb
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 797


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you attempted to connect to your own server using the localhost (127.0.0.1)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Soc Man



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just tryed it and it didnt work either .. I think i did it right but its like its not even trying to connect at all .. the error message just pops up automatically it doesn't have the "attempting to connect" window at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeb
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 797


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... is the server started? Have you clicked the "start server" button?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Soc Man



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep server started and loaded everything, didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeb
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 797


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you don't have a firewall that is blocking the server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Soc Man



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope.

Edit** Just tryed installing a fire wall it does not detect it trying to access the internet at all.

Just tryed Norten system works 2005 to try to resolve the issue thinking it might be windows :/ still no luck. The firewall can now detect it trying to connect I tryed it with permissions and with the firewall disabled. :/ still no luck.

A member of a server I join all the time says he ran into this issue before but he can't remember how he fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Soc Man



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 5


PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out Jeb. One of the first things I should have tried. It was directx. How stupit was that ordeal :/ Anyways take note of this for future referance and thanks for your patience and help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbbw



Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 76

Location: next to my porn colection

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh an good way to identify if it's directx is that u get an instant connection error.

if it's the firewall or mispelled host/ip u get a delayed one.

also iwe noticed the conns.dat sometimes get's corrupted/broken so deleting this one and typing in the host again solved that prob.

and that IDS in norton sometimes cuts the connection coz it thinks it's a DOS attack.
hypocrit symantec.
_________________
Emperium Xenos Project.
http://www.emperium.webhop.net/
The Pic Depo.
http://picdepo.us.to/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Oxeye Game Studio Forum Index -> Whispers in Akarra All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group